John A. Hogan Distinguished Lecture by Daron Acemoglu of MIT

04/26/2018 - 4:00pm

John A. Hogan Distinguished Lecture and Reception
Thursday, April 26, 2018
4 p.m. Lecture
5 p.m. Reception  
Huddleston Hall | 73 Main Street | Durham, NH​


This year’s John A. Hogan Distinguished Lecture will be given by Daron Acemoglu of MIT who will present:

Robotics, AI and the Future of Work

Will robotics and AI mean the end of work as we know it? More inequality? Joblessness? Or is this just another hype?

To find out, attend this year’s Hogan Distinguished Lecture. Immediately following the lecture there will be a reception where you will have the opportunity to meet this year’s speaker Daron Acemoglu of MIT, ranked third on the list of “Favorite Living Economists under Age 60” in a 2011 survey of economists. Acemoglu is also the most cited economist of the past 10 years (IDEAS/REPEC).

About the Speaker:

K. Daron Acemoglu is Elizabeth and James Killian Professor of Economics in the Department of Economics at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology and a member of the Institutions, Organizations and Growth program of the Canadian Institute for Advanced Research. He is also affiliated with the National Bureau Economic Research, and the Center for Economic Policy Research.

He is an elected fellow of the National Academy of Sciences, the Turkish Academy of Sciences, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, the Econometric Society, the European Economic Association, and the Society of Labor Economists.

Daron Acemoglu has received a BA in economics at the University of York, 1989, M.Sc. in mathematical economics and econometrics at the London School of Economics, 1990, and Ph.D. in economics at the London School of Economics in 1992. Since 1993, he has held the academic positions of Lecturer at the London School of Economics, and Assistant Professor, Pentti Kouri Associate Professor and Professor of Economics at MIT.

He is the author of four books, Economic Origins of Dictatorship and Democracy (with James A. Robinson), Introduction to Modern Economic Growth, Why Nations Fail: The Origins of Power, Prosperity and Poverty (with James A. Robinson), Principles of Economics (with David Laibson and John List).

Daron Acemoglu has received numerous awards and fellowships, including the inaugural T. W. Shultz Prize from the University of Chicago in 2004, and the inaugural Sherwin Rosen Award for outstanding contribution to labor economics in 2004, Distinguished Science Award from the Turkish Sciences Association in 2006, the John von Neumann Award, Rajk College, Budapest in 2007, and the Carnegie Fellowship in 2017.

He was also awarded the John Bates Clark Medal in 2005, given every two years to the best economist in the United States under the age of 40 by the American Economic Association, the Erwin Plein Nemmers prize awarded every two years for work of lasting significance in economics, and the 2016 BBVA Frontiers of Knowledge award in economics.

He holds Honorary Doctorates from the University of Utrecht, the Bosporus University, University of Athens, Bilkent University, the University of Bath, and the Ecole Normale Superieure, Sacaly Paris.

His book (joint with James A. Robinson) Economic Origins of Dictatorship and Democracy received the Association of American Publishers Award for Excellence in Professional, and the William Riker Prize for Best Book Published in Political Economy, the Woodrow Wilson Foundation Award for Best Book Published on Government, Politics or International Affairs. Why Nations Fail also received several prizes and awards, and was a New York Times bestseller in 2012.

Learn more about Professor Acemoglu here

Questions? Contact Karen Conway at